Changes at some of the Norwegian embassies in the summer of 2019

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs will make some changes in how they organize which embassies receive applications for visas and residence permits from abroad.

Published: 04.06.2019 - Last changed: 06.07.2019

The changes mean that some of the Norwegian embassies will have the responsibility for applications from many countries in the region. The majority of those who will apply for a visa or for a residence permit will continue to show up at the same place as before.

The same kind of changes were done in 2018, when for instance the Norwegian embassy in Abu Dhabi assumed responsibility for, among others, applications from Pakistan and Iran. 

What’s new?

These embassies will assume responsibility for the applications from other countries in the nearby region:

The Norwegian embassy in Amman

  • Egypt (from May)
  • Libya (from May)
  • Yemen (from May)
  • Israel (from June
  • Palestine (from June)
  • Chad (from 8 July)
  • Lebanon (from 20 August)
  • Syria (from 20 August)
  • Algeria (from 20 August)
  • Tunisia (from 20 August)

The Norwegian embassy in Bangkok 

  • The Philippines (from 26 July)
  • Indonesia (from 26 July)
  • East Timor (from 26 July)
  • Vietnam (from 26 July)
  • Laos (from 26 July)

The Norwegian embassy in Pretoria 

  • Malawi (from 26 July)
  • Zambia (from 26 July)
  • Eswatini (from 26 July)
  • Mozambique (from 26 July)
  • Angola (from 26 July)

The Norwegian embassy in New Delhi 

  • Sri Lanka (from 26 July)
  • Maldives (from 26 July)

The Norwegian embassy in Nairobi 

  • Ethiopia (from 24 July)
  • Djibouti (from 24 July)
  • Tanzania (from 24 July)
  • DRC Kongo (from 24 July)
  • Eritrea (from 8 July)

The Norwegian embassy in Ankara 

  • Kosovo (from 26 July)
  • Albania (from 26 July)
  • Serbia (from 12 September)
  • Montenegro (from 12 September)
  • North Macedonia (from 26 July)
  • Bosnia-Hercegovina (from 26 July)
  • Croatia (from 26 July)
  • Romania (from 26 July)
  • Moldova (from 26 July)
  • Bulgaria (from 26 July)

The Norwegian embassy in Accra

  • Central African Republic (from 8 July)
  • São Tomé and Príncipe (from 26 July)
  • Gabon (from 26 July)
  • Equatorial-Guinea (from 26 July)
  • Republic of Congo (Brazzaville) (from 26 July)

The UDI will update the Application Portal when the changes are made, so that the applications will automatically be sent to the correct embassy. 

What will remain the same as before?

Most applicants will still hand in their applications in the same city as before. In many of the countries in question, application centres already accept applications for visa and residence permit on behalf of the embassy. The applicants will continue to show up at these centres although the application will from now on be sent to another embassy for processing. The applicants will also have their passport with the visa and their decision handed out at these application centres. In some countries, more application centres will open.

If the embassy needs to interview the applicant, this will happen at the application centre. The applicants do not need to travel to the embassy.

Our web pages are always updated with information on where citizens of different countries will hand in their applications.

On the embassy’s web pages, you will find information on which rules apply locally and how to apply:  (external website)

Would you like to help us improving the website?

Did you find what you were looking for?