What is the 90/180 days rule?

If you visit Norway and the Schengen area, you can stay as a visitor for up to 90 days per period of 180 days.

For instance, if you have stayed in the Schengen area for 90 days, you must leave and stay outside the Schengen area for at least 90 days before you can return. The visit time can also be divided into several shorter visits.

The 180 days period is "mobile", which means that in any period of 180 days one cannot have spent more than 90 days in the Schengen area.

If you need a visitor visa to visit Norway and the Schengen area again, you must apply for a visitor visa from your home country.

You may use the Schengen calculator to calculate how long you have visited the Schengen area and whether this is within the limit of 90 days during a period of 180 days.

Please note that your visa may be issued for a shorter period than 90 days. In such a case, you cannot stay longer in the Schengen area than the visa allows.