EU/EEA national

When we use the expression 'EU/EEA national', we mean a citizen of one of the EU countries or Iceland, Liechtenstein or Switzerland.

Citizens of the following countries are defined as EU/EEA nationals in our regulations:

Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, the UK, Sweden, Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary and Austria

Can Norwegian citizens be defined as EU/EEA nationals in family immigration cases and visitor's visa cases?

If the reference person (the family member in Norway) is a Norwegian citizen, he or she can only be defined as an EU/EEA national if:

  1. you have lived together on a permanent basis in an EU/EEA country other than Norway, and
  2. the reference person has been an employee, self-employed person, service provider, had sufficient funds or been a student there, and 
  3. you are now moving to Norway together.

Would you like to help us improving the website?

Did you find what you were looking for?